The Mystery Writers of America announced the winners of their annual special awards on Wednesday.

The writing organization has named Laurie R. King as its grandmaster for 2022. The California-based author is known for her novels featuring San Francisco police detective Kate Martinelli (The art of detecting) and her series of historical mysteries following Mary Russell, a detective and the wife of Sherlock Holmes (Island of the Mad

King “examples the excellence that defines the Grand Master Award, and we are pleased to recognize her achievements,” said MWA President Alafair Burke in a press release. Past grandmasters have included Walter Mosley, Sue Grafton and Mary Higgins Clark.

Lesa Holstine was named winner of the Raven Award, which is presented in recognition of “outstanding achievement in the field of mystery beyond the realm of creative writing.” Holstine, a librarian in Indiana, is the founder of the popular blog Lesa’s book reviews

The winner of the Ellery Queen Award, presented to individuals or teams in the publishing industry, is Juliet Grames, the senior vice president and associate publisher of indie publishing house Soho Press. Grames is also the author of a novel, The Seven or Eight Dead of Stella Fortuna

The winners of the special MWA awards will receive the awards at the Edgar Awards ceremony, which will take place on April 28 in New York.

Michael Schaub is a Texas-based journalist and a regular contributor to NPR.