The longlist for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction has been revealed, with Nadifa Mohamed, Sebastian Faulks and Colm Tóibín among the 13 authors in the running for the literary prize.

Mohamed was nominated for the fortune menher novel about a Somali immigrant falsely accused of murder in the UK in the 1950s. The book was previously shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the Costa Novel Award.

Faulks made the longlist for snow countrytogether with Tóibín for The magician† Also nominated were Sarah Winman for Still life and filmmaker Neil Jordan for The Ballad of Lord Edward and Citizen Small

Also nominated were Douglas Bruton’s Blue postcardsAndrew Greig’s Rose NicolsonStacey Halls’ Mrs EnglandCiaran McMenamin’s The sunken wayJames Robertson’s News of the DeadSunjeev Sahotas Chinese RoomAmanda Smyth’s Fortuneand JR Thorps leather lady

The Walter Scott Prize was established in 2010. Previous winners have been Andrea Levy for the long songRobert Harris for An officer and a spyChristine Dwyer Hickey for the narrow countryand Hilary Mantel for Wolf Hall and The mirror and the light

A shortlist for the prize will be announced in April, with the winner announced at the Borders Book Festival in Scotland in June.

Michael Schaub is a Texas-based journalist and a regular contributor to NPR.