The jury for the Booker Prize 2022, one of the most prestigious anglophone literary awards in the world, has been announced.

The Booker Prize Foundation announced the lineup in a press release on Tuesday. The panel will be chaired by Neil MacGregor, the historian, former director of the National Gallery and British Museum, and author (Living with the gods

Alain Mabanckou, Congolese-French novelist, poet and author of Broken glass and Black Moseswill collaborate with editor and author M. John Harrison (Signs of lifeNova Swing

Shahidha Bari, the announcer and book reviewer, will serve as judge, as will historian and writer Helen Castor (WolvesJoan of Arc

Gaby Wood, literary director of the Booker Prize Foundation, said she “can’t wait” to see the jury’s recommendations for the prize.

“This year’s panel is made up of outstanding readers who have an innate understanding of [the award’s] global scope, but are steeped in the history and literature of Britain,” Wood said. “They are experts in the porous boundaries of genres and in the exchange of literary traditions.”

MacGregor paid tribute to the recently deceased Joan Didion in a statement, saying, “We tell ourselves stories to live.” In the past year, as book sales soared, Joan Didion’s words proved true more than ever… It is a great privilege to be asked to [read] in the company of such eminent judges, who themselves write – in a rich array of traditions – about real and imagined worlds.”

The Booker Prize, which is awarded annually to a novel published in English, was first awarded in 1969. The most recent winner was Damon Galgut for The promise

Michael Schaub is a Texas-based journalist and a regular contributor to NPR.