The American Library Association announced the winners of its Youth Media Awards, which include Donna Barba Higuera, Jason Chin, Carole Boston Weatherford and the late Floyd Cooper.

Higuera won the John Newbery Medal, awarded to the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature, for: The last cuentista, her children’s novel about a young girl who evacuates Earth with her family to avoid Halley’s Comet. In a one-star review, a critic of Kirkus called the book “an exquisite tonic for storytellers far and wide, young and old.”

Illustrator Chin received the Randolph Caldecott Medal, which honors an outstanding picture book, for: Watercress, written by Andrea Wang. The book also earned a Kirkus star, with one reviewer praising Chin’s “masterfully detailed illustrations.”

Author Weatherford and illustrator Cooper both won the Coretta Scott King Awards, presented to African American writers and artists, for: Unspeakable: The Massacre of the Tulsa Race† The book was previously a finalist for the Kirkus Prize and the National Book Prize. Cooper died last July, five months after the book was published.

The Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults went to Angeline Boulley for: The Fireman’s Daughter† last week, the novel won a Walter Dean Myers Award.

The ALA gave the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement to Nikki Grimes (between the linesLegacy), while Grace Lin (When the sea turned to silverA big moon cake for little star) was named the winner of the Children’s Literature Legacy Award.

A full list of winners and honorees is available on the ALA website

Michael Schaub is a Texas-based journalist and a regular contributor to NPR.